City Commission

City Commission

The City of Fort Scott has operated under a City Commission/City Manager form of government since 1975. The City Commission consists of a Mayor, President of the Commission, and three (3) City Commissioners. All members of the City Commission are elected at large on a non-partisan basis by the citizens of Fort Scott. The Mayor, President of the Commission and City Commission all serve without any compensation.

Elections for the City Commission are held every other year. In each election, three (3) seats are vacant on the City Commission. The two candidates acquiring the most votes receive a four (4) year term while the candidate obtaining the third most votes receives a two (2) year term.

The City Commission elects the Mayor and President of the Board annually at their first meeting in April. The Mayor, who has the same authority as the other Commissioners, presides over the Commission meetings, provides the official signature on documents, and represents the City at official and ceremonial functions. In the absence of the Mayor, the President of the Commission fulfills the duties of the Mayor.

The City Commission passes ordinances and resolutions, establishes policies for the City, approves the annual budget, appoints members of City Boards and appoints the City Manager.

The City Commission meets on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the City Commission Room at City Hall, 123 S. Main Street. These meetings are open to the public.

City Commission

Please click on a person's name to send them an email.

Name Position Phone
Cindy Bartelsmeyer City Commissioner 620-768-9870
Jim Adams City Commissioner 417-661-0955
JoLynne Mitchell Mayor 620-224-9330
Randy Nichols City Commissioner 620-223-5846
Sam Mason City Commissioner 620-223-5873