City Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • City Commission Meeting Room
    123 S Main Street
    Fort Scott, KS 66701

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  •  Kathryn (Katie) Harrington, Mayor
    Term expires: December 2023
  • , City Commissioner
  •  Term Expires: December 2024
  • Shane Walker, City Commissioner
  • Term Expires December 2023

  • Tim Van Hoecke, President of City Commission
    Term Expires: December 2025
  • Matthew Wells, City Commissioner
    Term expires: December 2023
  • Josh Jones, City Commissioner
  • Term Expires:  December 2025
Jolynne Mitchell, Mayor
Term expires: January 2022


The City of Fort Scott has operated under a City Commission/City Manager form of government since 1975. The City Commission consists of a Mayor, President of the Commission, and three City Commissioners. All members of the City Commission are elected at large on a non-partisan basis by the citizens of Fort Scott. The Mayor, the President of the Commission, and the City Commissioners all serve without any compensation.


Elections for the City Commission are held every other year. In each election, 3 seats are vacant on the City Commission. The two candidates acquiring the most votes receive a 4 year term while the candidate obtaining the third most votes receives a 2 year term.

The City Commission elects the Mayor and President of the Board annually at their first meeting in January. The Mayor, who has the same authority as the other Commissioners, presides over the Commission meetings, provides the official signature on documents, and represents the City at official and ceremonial functions. In the absence of the Mayor, the President of the Commission fulfills the duties of the Mayor.


  • Passes city ordinances and resolutions
  • Establishes policies for the City
  • Approves the annual budget
  • Appoints members of City Boards
  • Appoints the City Manager